Wednesday, April 27, 2011

dans ma rue

So I recently stumbled upon this blog of a man named David Lebovitz who moved from the United States to France.  He adores France but like any foreigner, finds France's bureaucratic system IMPOSSIBLE. seriously France is a joke when it comes to customer service. it is seriously one of those things that you either have to laugh or cry about because its SOOO REDICULOUS. Did you know that in order to cancel any sort of monthly plan, such as a cellphone or cable plan, you have to send in a written letter explaining why you want to terminate your service!? And then its guaranteed that they will tell you that they never received your letter! And even if they do admit they received your letter, if they don't like your reason enough they can refuse to end your contract!? What is this!????!!!???!!!??
  I have posted one of my favorite stories from his blog(I have heard millions of the same version from friends) and I also posted a satirical quiz about 28 questions to ask yourself before moving to France.  If you have never lived in France you may not understand all of the questions so I added some of my own commentary for a little explanation..enjoy!!


Today, I stood in the middle of my apartment and screamed.
It’s not something I normally do. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever done that before. Being fifty, I’d say my life is roughly half over and I hope to never have to do it again during my last half. (I’m sure my neighbors would be pleased if I never did it again as well.)
I’ve been dealing with my internet provider, who also provides—or is supposed to provide, phone service.
Since signing up with them last year, my service has been hit or miss. Since the beginning of August, it’s been all miss, and I’ve been missing phone service and internet access since then. I do remember the days before we have the internet, so while it’s a major inconvenience, it’s not the end of the world. (Unless you have a blog. Then it’s pretty close.) But not having phone service for nearly ten weeks is pretty crazy.
There’s a lot of grousing about French customer service. I’ve seen the good, and I’ve seen the bad. Usually the trick is to find someone who will help you and once you do, they’ll do what they can to help. And then the service is top-notch. You just need to find that person.
So far, I haven’t found that person at my cable company. And believe me, I’ve tried.

I’ve called them repeatedly, and when I finally get someone on the line (after paying 34 cents/minute, and being on hold for 20 minutes), they tell me they can’t hear me because of a bad connection. When I yell into the phone (so they can hear me), they fail to see the irony in the fact that they’re my telephone provider. When I ask them why they can’t hear me, they fail to see the same irony in it that I do. I may have lost my mind, but at least I haven’t lost my sense of humor.
Because I was going broke paying to tell them to fix the problem that they’re causing, last month I went into the the cable company office. It’s always a mob scene, so I got there fifteen minutes before they opened at 10am. Finally, at 10:20am, someone arrived to unlock the door and let us in. And I got a highly-coveted appointment with a service person.
The technician finally came, and the first thing he said was, “There’s a problem in the secteur.” Since they’ve been telling me that for the past ten months, I figured they’d had enough time to iron out any problems in mon secteur, so I wasn’t buying it.
The technician told me that I needed a different kind of technicien, which is the local lingo for, “I don’t want to deal with this.” But did offer some advice on the way out, “I wouldn’t pay anymore.”
And the last time I was without service, when I asked for a refund on my bill, I had to send a certified letter (recommandé), to request one. They did grant it, but the price of sending that letter was greater than the refund. So I’m not exactly inclined to do it again.
So if you’re wondering where I am, I’m trying to get out of l’enferNumericable. I sent them the required certified, signature-required letter that I wanted to end my service, which they told me that they’d never received, and I needed to send it again. (the hell) of
Of course, I was holding the receipt in my hand, with their signature on it.
The funny thing is, tomorrow I’m supposed to speak to a group of newly-arrived Americans about how to cope with life in a foreign country.
I’m thinking of standing in the middle of the room, and screaming.





(Lebovitz, David, "Living the Sweet Life in Paris" L'infer de Numericable, http://www.davidlebovitz.com/2009/10/lenfer/)




28  QUESTIONS TO ASK YOURSELF BEFORE MOVING TO FRANCE





1. You’re working as a guard in a museum filled with priceless treasures. The alarm in the museum has been broken for two months and thieves have stolen €500 million worth of art. Video monitors showed the entire robbery in progress but as one of the guards on patrol, like the others, you somehow missed the whole thing. Do you…
  • A. Blame the mayor. (everyone does this)
  • B. Blame the lock company that installed the crummy padlock which the thieves snipped off the gate, which was the only thing standing between them and one of the most exceptional collections of art in the world.
  • C. Blame the anti-smoking law because you had to go outside to have a cigarette, along with all the other guards at the exact same time, and the people who came up with that law couldn’t possibly expect you to keep an eye on things.
2. You’re in a café and just finished a €2 cup of coffee and you’re ready to pay. You suddenly realize that you only have a €50 note. Even though the waiter has a billfold bulging with euro notes, do you…
  • A. Order twenty-four more coffees because he’ll swear he doesn’t have any change.
  • B. Offer to buy a round of drinks for everyone in the room.
  • C. Unbutton your blouse a few notches and lean over and give ‘em a good squeeze when handing the waiter the money. 
 (everyone always swears they dont have change, so it seriously will result to these extreme measures!!)
 
3. You’re stuck in traffic when you hear an ambulance coming up from behind. Cars start moving off to the side of the road to let the ambulance through. Do you…
  • A. Move your car over to the side of the road, too, so the ambulance can pass and get quickly to the urgent medical emergency they’re going to. (of course not!)
  • B. Grudgingly move your car off to the side because even though the ambulance is racing to take save someone’s life, complaining that you’re going to miss the start Star Academy. (the french are addicted to this show..its like their version of american idol)
  • C. An opening in the road? What are you, crazy? Allez-y…!
4. You just bought a pricey new pair of trousers. When you get home, you realize the zipper is coming apart. Do you…
  • A. Block off two days on your calendar to exchange the trousers at the store for another pair.
  • B. Take the pants to the local tailor and pay the €32 out of your own pocket to have it fixed.
  • C. Throw them away. (i would choose this one...not worth allll that trouble!!)

5. You’re visiting Paris and it’s time for dinner, but you’re a kosher, gluten-free vegan on a no-salt, low-fat diet. Do you…
  • A. Go to a restaurant and politely request that your food be served nature, without accompaniments, because of your health condition. (baaaaad idea, the french would never understand this )
  • B. Go for it, because if you’re going to go, why not do it on a fabulous French meal?
  • C. Spend the night in your hotel room watching CNN, and eat an apple.
les parisiens
6. You’re tired of people walking right into you as if you weren’t even there. Do you…
  • A. Move out of their way, realizing that they likely have far more important things to do than you.
  • B. Aim the pointy baguette that you’re carrying at crotch level as a preemptive warning to get out of the way.
  • C. Belt out a random song from Rent at full-volume so they think you’re nuts, and avoid you.
(my dad got to see the perfect example of this as i was walking through a narrow passage way in Paris. I kindly stepped to the side as this woman barged into me...i regret not threatening to throw her into the Seine river the next time she tried that!! grrrr)

7. Unfortunately, you’ve managed to get a €100 note in your possession. Do you…
  • A. Cross the city because only the branch of your bank where you opened your account can make change for you.
  • B. Cross the city because only that particular branch where you opened your account can take cash deposits from you. But they’re out of change so you have to deposit it into your account, then withdraw money from the ATM so you have smaller bills. . ( i cannot tell you how many times the banks have been out of change...umm am I in the twilight zone!?)
  • C. Give it to a beggar on the métro, laughing to yourself as you walk away, because now it’s his problem.
8. You’re at the enormous hardware store, looking for a couple of screws. They don’t have the size you need, so you head for the exit. However the wary guards are already on you, thinking you might have swiped something from the store. Just as you’re about to exit, they stop you. Do you…
  • A. Explain to them that you were just looking, but what you needed wasn’t on the shelf, and they let you go on your way.
  • B. Open your mouth to prepare to be swabbed for a DNA sample.
  • C. Thank God you wore clean underwear because you’re in for a strip search.
9. You’re hopelessly lost in the enormous 5-story underground shopping center at Les Halles. After walking around a few times, trying to find your way out and realizing that you’re about to pass out from the lack of oxygen, do you…
  • A. Feel relieved when you find an information desk, only to find that it’s empty (always!)
  • B. Feel relieved when you find an information desk, only to find that it’s manned by teenage girls who are too busy texting their friends or checking their watches in anticipation of their next cigarette break so they don’t have time to help you out. (always!)
  • C. Curl up in a ball in a corner, stick your thumb in your mouth, and whimper that you want your mommy.
10. Can you figure out which one of these isn’t true? Your plumber shows up because you have a problem with your toilet. Does he…
  • A. Offer up a hands-on—or otherwise, demonstration of how to use your new toilet.
  • B. Offer up a recipe and a demonstration for puff pastry.
  • C. Ask what flavors of ice cream you have in your freezer today.
  • D. All of the above.
(Tip: Answer D.)

11. You taste a chocolate that’s the best thing you’ve ever eaten in your life. You have friends coming to visit so you make plans to go to the chocolate shop and get more. Do you…
  • A. Take 3 métros across town, only to find out that they happen to be closed that day for a Fermeture Exceptionelle.
  • B. Kick yourself for not calling before you set out.
  • C. Get to the shop and find out that that’s the only chocolate they don’t have in stock, because they only make them on the third Tuesday of each month, during months that end with a “y”…and only during leap years.
haha this was def one of my favorite questions
 
12. You’re at the supermarket register, and the cashier has just rung up your goods. However as you’re reaching for your wallet, in a panic, you can’t find it and fear you’ve been pickpocketed. Does she…
  • A. Offer a bit of sympathy for your unfortunate predicament.
  • B. Set aside your groceries for you to do a more complete search of your pants and jacket pockets.
  • C. Start laughing at you.
(Tip: Answer C.)

13. You’re on a bus. Who gets priority seating?
  • A. The man who lost both legs in the war.
  • B. The frail, little old lady who could barely make it on the bus with those heavy bags weighing her down.
  • C. The five year old kid in the Hermès jumpsuit.
14. You move to France with all your worldly possessions, which you’ve shipped by freighter. They arrive…
  • A. Right on schedule.
  • B. A few days late, but they call to let you know, so you can change plans.
  • C. A day before they said they the delivery would arrive, when you have movers scheduled to help, and call from the street saying they’ve just left two rooms of your furniture on the sidewalk outside.
(Tip: Answer C.)

15. You’re in the neighborhood and pass by your favorite candy and chocolate shop to say hi. The proprietress is happy to see you. Does she…
  • A. Have you sample a few new chocolates, including an amazing one filled the crushed bergamot macarons.
  • B. Give you a bag of organic prunes.
  • C. Invite you up to her apartment to see her bedroom.
  • D. All of the above.
(Tip: Answer D.)

16. Under the threat of privatization, La Poste successfully implements new measures, including a guarantee that customers will be out in five minutes, which they make good on. They also modernize a host of their other operations, for the better. Do…

  • A. Your French friends complain about the changes at the post office, even when they respond affirmatively when you ask them if the service and speed are improved.
  • B. You and everyone else become pleased that the country is concerned enough about its citizens to improve one of its most fundamental, universally used services.
  • C. You wonder why the communists stand there and open the door for each visitor in hopes that you’ll buy one of their flyers, which is pretty much antithetical to everything that communism stands for.
17. Which of these activities means that you’ve achieved a certain status in France, and you can say that you actually have completed, so now you finally have the right to say you live here?
  • A. Got your visa at city hall approved.
  • B. Set up an apartment, furnished it, and integrated into French society.
  • C. Switched cable providers. (hahah as explained from the above story)
18. Answer this question: “Is foie gras inhumane?”
  • A. No. It’s been made the same way since Egyptian times so it’s fine to eat.
  • B. No. It’s part of French culinary heritage, and it wouldn’t be Christmas without it.
  • C. No. Because my health food store carries it.
(Tip: Answer C.)

19. What thickness should towels be?
  • A. Thick, soft, and water-absorbent.
  • B. Big enough to get the job done.
  • C. You should be able to read Le Monde through them(french towels are always SO THIN!)
20. Someone has sent you a gift from the states. Unfortunately they forgot to declare it as a gift, so you have to pay taxes on it. Are the taxes…
  • A. Equivalent to the cost of the item.
  • B. More than the cost of the item.
  • C. You don’t know because you look at the bill and you can’t even see straight when you find out there’s actually a tax on the tax, too.
21. By mistake, you open the door and one of those fake chimney sweeps barges into your apartment, saying that “by law”, they have to clean your chimney. Do you…
  • A. Realize you’ve made a big mistake, but let them clean your chimney out, and then your wallet.
  • B. Knee him in the couilles and show him the way out.
  • C. Realize that bad karma is a bitch when you hear him in the courtyard getting ripped a new one by the guardienne of your building.
22. The government is considering a ban on €500 notes. This is being done…
  • A. To make it harder for people to smuggle large sums of money.
  • B. To thwart drug dealers.
  • C. Because even that’s too much money to hand over to a beggar.
23. You’ve decided to make the big move abroad. Since you live in Chicago, you check the consulate branch’s website in Chicago for what requirements you need and note the list of documents you need to provide. Then, on a lark, you check the consulate websites for Los Angeles, New York, and San Francisco, you find they say that you need completely different things. Do you…
  • A. Assume that there’s obviously a mistake somewhere.
  • B. Call to make sure, since this is for official, important government business and you want to make sure you get it right.
  • C. Scratch your head when they ask, “Well, what city are you from?”, which is akin to someone from Spain moving to America, and a resident of Madrid having to provide completely different documents than someone hailing from Barcelona.
hahah i def asked myself this question during my visa process!!soo bizarre!

24. You finally move and realize that the apartment you found on the internet is actually a 3 x 9-foot room, an 8th floor walkup, and the bathroom is actually in a hallway which you share with five neighbors, one of who inevitably mistakes your door for his in the middle of the night when he gets up to do his business. Do you…
  • A. Call a locksmith to make sure your door is secure.
  • B. Wear earplugs.
  • C. Let him in. French dudes are hot.
25. How much should it cost to go to the bathroom?
  • A. Free.
  • B. 20 centimes.
  • C. €1-1.5. And if you don’t like it, find a spot outside. (yuppp!)
26. Food should be served…
  • A. Using the freshest ingredients, in convivial surroundings.
  • B. Chopped fine, layered in tiny shot glasses (never understood why they do this!)
  • C. On square plates, sprinkled with cumin.
27. What is the most confounding thing about learning French?
  • A. The fourteen verb tenses.
  • B. The fact that you don’t pronounce the last third of words.
  • C. Realizing that the French are just as confused as we are.
28. Who is the most important person in France?


...continued from my vacation at the end of February...

Alex and I hopped on the train early in the morning from Lisbon, and made sure to make a pit stop at the beautiful town of Lagos on our way to Albufeira.  We arrived at the train station with our heavy bags, ran into the bathrooms to change into our bathing suits, headed strait to the only hostel open (called the Rising Cock haha) and proceeded to beg them to hold onto our bags while we hit the beach...SUCCESS...and this is what we stumbled upon!



our own private beach in Lagos!!!

it was stunning!!

the following day in Albufeira

our lovely Brazilian hosts in Faro, Portugal
Portugal...I will see you again; this I know for sure : )

Monday, March 28, 2011

         After dancing the night away the night before, we got up at Joao's apartment at a decent hour and hopped in the car with him.  He told us he had to drive to Sintra (about 45 mins outside of Lisbon) to visit his uncle.  The drive was amazing and we stopped along the cliffs for some great pictures!

the gorgeous coast- reminded me of half-moon bay a bit
Joao's uncle's house is the house with the blue shudders (top left), kind of hard to see

On the balcony of Joao's uncle's house.

On the drive on the way back we stopped at Cabo da Roca- the most western point of Europe
Also on the way back to lisbon we stopped in a city called Bleim for these AMAZING pasteries...Pastéis de Belém- a creamy eggy custard with a crispy flaky crust, sprinkled with powerdered sugar and cinimmon... YUMMMMM


That night Joao dropped us off at a tram stop where we were to meet yet another host- who's name still remains somewhat of a mystery.  This really nice mystery man named something like "Muchacho" lol picked us up and walked us back to his appartment.  Due to the raging the night before and the long day at Sintra, Alex and I were exhausted and explained that we were planning to go strait to bed.  He showed us to our rooms and we instantly passed out!  We woke up early with plans to explore Lisbon!  We walked around the whole city and then decided to walk (for more than an hour due to a little mis-calculation of distance) in order to see this famed "Belem Tower."  After this treacherous walk...we finally found this cool but super tiny castle...I thought it was a joke...


 After a very long day, we returned to Munchindo's house to cook dinner and went out for a little bit.  We ended up meeting with our previous host Joao again! fun fun!  Our last day in Lisbon was spent in Sintra, the same city Joao drove us through.  We weren't able to see the famous Pena Palace which was def worth the trip back to the city- Alex and I like to call it the technicolored castle

Its hard to tell but the castle is seriously on the very tipy-top of this forest-y city
 
pretty sweet
 After spending all day in Sintra, we returned back to Muchasa's (yes I'm changing his name every time).  We packed up our stuff and planned our day trip to Lagos on our way to Albufeira! 
Super cool looking train station in Lisbon- the next pic is Alex giving me a funny look because we are of course over an hour early for our train...but HEY we had time to eat breakfast and chase around some ugly pigeons lol

Goodbye Lisbon...hello BEACHES and TAN LINES!!! : )



Tuesday, March 22, 2011

LISBON!

Alex and I hopped aboard our train after saying fare well to Ricardo and we were off to Lisbon.  We arrived at around 21h and Joao, our next host was quick to find us at the train station! He drove us back to his apartment where we met two of his friends.  They were eager to prove to us that Lisbon was much better than Porto haha it was funny.  We all sat around talking and sharing Youtube videos and music.  Alex and I had bought Joao a bottle of Porto wine from the Sandeman winery and which we all shared.  At around midnight we all piled into his friend's car and headed out to a lively part of Lisbon called Birra Alto.

The crowded small streets of Birra Alto lined with cool smaller bars
 At around 2h they decided it was time to go to the club for some dancing! : )


In line at club LUX, one of the best in Lisbon

Alex, Joao, and I inside the club
 
In the parking lot of the club at around 6h...yes that is the sun rising hahaha


And that concludes our first hours of Lisbon...I'm running off to teach, but the tale of Lisbon has just begun so stay tuned!! : )


xoxoxo to my friends and family!!

Sunday, March 20, 2011

Porto

Alex and I decided to couch surf for our entire stay in Portgual... a genius idea if I do say so myself.  She organized our hosts for Porto and Lisbon and I organized our hosts for Albufeira.  Alex tells me our host Mike offered to pick us up from the airport, the only catch is we don't have his phone number and he doesn't have ours either...ya woops! We land in Porto at 23:55 and head out to the street level after seeing no signs of our host in the arrival section.  With an hour already gone by, and still no signs of our host, we are thinking something went wrong. 

Plan B is looking very intriguing - the Porto soccer team had just landed dressed in suits and their tour bus was waiting for them directly across from us ; ) 

In the end Mike, our host, found us and our first night/wee hours of the morning were not spent sleeping in the airport!  He took us on a little drive through the city and pointed out all the "must-sees," from the car windows.  We got back to his lovely apartment and shared some great conversations over a bottle of port-wine. It had to have been about 5am before we finally went to sleep. We slept in a little the next morning and he offered to drive us to our next host's house.  Mike was only able to host us for our first night because he was taking off to Lisbon. 

Mike dropped us off at Ricardo's house(our next host). He was really nice but apologized that he couldn't spend the day with us because he was busy with work.  However, he gave us the phone number of Fernando- another couch surfing host who was currently hosting 4 Russian women.  We all met up in the center of Porto and Fernando gave us a tour of the city, while cracking sexest women jokes...i laughed at them all...he was silly. 

 
Cool markets on our walking tour- it was rainy so we took cover here for a moment
a beautiful church with the typical blue tile seen through out Portugal

Fernando then invited us over for dinner to cook with the other women.

alex, me, the four russians, and Fernando!...ricardo joined in soon after!

Ricardo then took Alex and I dancing allll night/ morning at a very cool club!

We woke up the next day with the sun shining and decided to head out to see more of the town and of course go wine tasting to Porto's famous wineries. 
kind of hard to tell but this is a tiny famous book store.  The winding staircase was an inspiration for the Harry Potter book/ film.

The different wineries all lined up along the water

gorgeous view!
First stop- Sandeman Winery : )


Second stop- Croft winery

Port sure is strong stuff..and with a little buzz going we happily sauntered the streets back to Ricardo's  apartment in order to pack our stuff and take a train that evening to our next destination- Lisbon!

Porto je t'aime : )


im back!!

Time to share my amazing 2 weeks spent in Portugal and Germany!!


Portugal -February 17th-27th.
I definitely (a word I will never be able to spell with out the help of spell check) left a piece of my heart in Portugal.  I don't know whether it was the people, the layout of the cities, our fabulous couch-surfing hosts, my amazing travel buddy and partner in crime Alex, or just the "je ne sais quoi", but when you connect with a certain country and culture you just know it!


Nice- 17h: arrival at the Nice airport for 18:15h flight.  If you know me then you know I will always be at least an extra half an hour early for any kind of scheduled departure.  I HATE being stressed about making connections.  For my flight over from the US I was (proudly) THE 1st person in the terminal.  I am quite content to be ridiculously early. I'd much rather sit and read a magazine rather than awkwardly run down the halls of an airport with my baggage (not a cute look!).  In fact, I have taken extreme measures to make my timely arrival happen.  In Brussels I actually lied to my friend and told him my flight back to Nice was an hour earlier, so as to ensure he'd take me to the airport with extra time to spare- a little white lie never hurt anyone ; )
     With all of this being said, I discovered a big problem a mere 2 days before my flight departed from Nice. Typical.  I bought my tickets from Nice to Paris and then from Paris to Porto, Portugal.  I knew I was flying into the Paris- Beavais airport and had to be in the Paris- Orly airport for my flight to Porto. I assumed I had enough time and that there would be ample means of transportation for the airport transfer.  WRONG...Kristen have you forgotten where you are?! this is France, home of the inconveniences!  I would definitely (thanks again spell check!) miss the bus to the airport which left me with one train option.  I had exactly 55 mins from the moment my plane landed to get from Beavais to the center of Paris (average estimated time 45mins). Kristen is not happy....I boarded my plane in Nice and strategically placed myself in the second row.  I tried to sleep but the stress is KILLING me and I think I replayed a vision of myself missing the connection over and over in my head. About an hour later my plane landed right on time in Beavais.  It was go time...I put in the earbuds of my ipod and found Eminem's "loose yourself"-

"Look, if you had one shot, or one opportunity
To seize everything you ever wanted- one moment
Would you capture it or just let it slip?"

The doors are open to the plane and I am the third person off the plane! I am seriously running with my 50 pound bag that I magically made fit in that ridiculously small carry-on luggage cage thingy after a rude attendant lady was confident my bag exceeded the limits...

I am passing people left and right and I only stop for mere seconds stop to buy my RER ticket which will take me on the metro to get into Paris. def no time to help the useless tourists figure out the system hahaha

Im on the RER and all is seeming to go exactly to plan down to the minute.  I get off at the Gare Du Nord train station with exactly 4 mins to find my train.  I'm underground and start sprinting up stairs to reach the 3rd floor to where the trains are located.  With a quick glance I find my train on the bulletin which reads platform 22. Naturally this one had to be separated from all the other platforms, which took me another minute to figure out.  Buuut I manage to locate the platform and I hopped on the train through the first car door.  With a sigh of relief, I put my bag overhead and the doors literally closed 2 mins later. Oh My Goodness...Portugal here I come!!!!!!

I find Alex in the Orly airport and all is well!

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

eblouie par la nuit

Once again I am a total failure at keeping up with this blogging! I'm taking you back to mid-November...


"1 week til turkey, and 1 month til TURKEY!!!!!" read my brother Christopher's status on facebook.  I figured out the first part- it meant one week until he got to eat turkey for thanksgiving.  However, what else could the second turkey be besides the country!? I wrote him a message on facebook demanding an immediate explanation and told him that if he comes anywhere near Europe I will stalk him down!! Within a week I had successfully crashed (with permission) his plans to go to Istanbul over Christmas break.  The trip was absolutely amazing! Istanbul is an incredible city! Christopher, his wonderful girlfriend Holly, and I stayed with Julia, Christopher's generous friend who was studying abroad in Istanbul.

 
These lovely smiling faces were waiting for me after I finally found my bus to Julia's apartment!



View of Asia from the Sultan's Palace
In front of the Blue Mosque
Inside the Blue Mosque
Infront of the Hagia Sophia
Such a great night life. This picture was probably taken at around 1am : )
This pic is dark (the flash on my camera decided to conveniently stop working on this trip!) but this is a pic of a man pouring us a delish milky-honey-y-cinnamony thick drink called Sahlab (not to be confused with the naughty french word salope!)

not quite finished with this post...i'm off to Paris tomorrow and need to pack!! much love to all!! xoxoxoxoox



Wednesday, January 12, 2011

I ventured to Lyon from the 10th-12th of December to see the Fête des Lumières.  This light festival is put on by the city once a year and was originally started with intentions to honor Mother Mary.  Candles and other amazing light installations illuminated the city.
Au centre ville
it was hard to capture with my camera but there were images projected onto the mist (above the lime green lights on the water)   













cool lights on a fountain

lights projected onto a church





cold weather called for lots of vin chaud : ) My friend Alex is on the left.  The others are her friends and other language assistants in Paris.
 I had a blast in Lyon!  Alex, her boyfriend Danny, and I couchsurfed on this trip so we had a lovely (and did i mention free!) apartment to sleep in : )          

In my life. . .

One of my new years resolutions is to "get organized," whatever that may mean.  I decided that keeping up with my blog falls into this category, so with out further ado...

I volunteered to host Thanksgiving chez moi, mostly out of practicality and of course I always love to share the beautiful view from my balcony!  A few of my girlfriends came over early in the day to prepare various dishes and it was funny to hear all of us explain at some point, "ok guys, no guarantees on this.  At home I usually make this with other ingredients."  Needless to say it was def an improvised Thanksgiving with a french twist.  

Salad, candied carrots, green bean casserole, garlic broccoli, rotisserie chicken, french bread (obviously!), stuffing, and my aligot for dinner, and chocolate pecan pie, apple tarts, chocolate and icecream for dessert ... clearly no one went home hungry!!

Everything turned out great, including my aligot dish.
Basically this is garlicy mashed potatoes with lots of melted cheese!! YUMMMMM!!!
The boys : )
  I ate until it hurt (as usual), and enjoyed everyone's company!! 

The thanksgiving crew (minus my lovely roommate Olga who took the pic!)



So thankful for friends and my dear family!!

xoxo